Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Leaking Oil Cooler Lines
Thu. February 21, 2013, 5:34 pm
Leaking Oil Cooler Lines
Hello everyone - long time since I've been able to get on here. Hope everyone is well, and your cars are all running problem free!

I recently noticed an oil leak from the cooler lines where they meet the cooler. Being a poor student I ordered the cheap dorman part which *knock on wood* seems to be holding. This phenomenon is of course no secret to anyone, it's a common thing for the o-rings or the crimps to start to leak, especially since that area gets splashed with grime and road salt many months of the year.

Anyway, long story short if you're ever doing this repair, freezing your butt off in the middle of february, check to see if this repair has been done in the past, and if the last person to do it screwed it up. I had read beforehand that some people have easily stripped the pinch bolt at the cooler-end, and have drilled straight through the cooler, securing a bolt with a nut at the other end (in a space that was never designed to accomodate it). I was changing my oil at the time, and didn't realize this bolt fell into the drain pan. I spent a good couple hours cursing and freezing before I decided to call it a day, drained the pans and figured out what had happened. So much for a quick simple job.

04 P71 - 3L55 - 300000+ km - Coming Soon: Rear pinion seal repair!
[Image: imag003711.jpg]
Panther at dusk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Thu. February 21, 2013, 7:57 pm
RE: Leaking Oil Cooler Lines
(Thu. February 21, 2013 5:34 pm)dgcox01 Wrote:  Hello everyone - long time since I've been able to get on here. Hope everyone is well, and your cars are all running problem free!